

Campus of IFT-UNESP - São Paulo, Brasil



The context of governance challenges science. Mathematical modeling can be part of the solution, but it can be a part of the problem as well. The school aims to develop an awareness of the challenges involved and will provide "food for thought" to develop comprehension of what is involved, a consciousness of the capabilities, limitations of mathematical modeling in decision-making, and self-awareness. We will address the question: Why and how science for governance is "science with consciousness" (also called complex thinking) and must be different from "everyday science" (technically speaking: normal science).

The course will address how a complex systems approach modifies our mathematical modeling. We will critically examine stochastic models and their relations to deterministic ones emphasizing the trade-off between mathematical accessibility and truth value.

The second part of the course will address, in mathematical form, decision theory and its relation to game theory. We will discuss decision making under uncertainties, game equivalence, game strategies, evolutionary games and more.

There is no registration fee and limited funds are available for travel and local expenses.

Application deadline: August 27, 2023

Online application and more information:

www.ictp-saifr.org/mmg2023









ORGANIZERS

Hernan G. Solari (IFIBA-CONICET and FCEN-UBA, Argentina)

Christian E. Schaerer (FP-UNA, Paraguay)
Claudia Pio Ferreira (IBB – Unesp, Brazil)
Marcelo Kuperman (CNEA-CONICET and
Instituto Balseiro, Argentina)

ICTP-SAIFR STEERING COMMITTEE
Atish Dabholkar - ICTP director
Pasqual Barretti - UNESP rector
Luiz Eugênio Mello - FAPESP scientific director
Hugo Aguilaniu - President-Director of Serrapilheira I.
Luiz Davidovich (representing Acad. Brazilian of Science)
Juan Maldacena - Representing South America

ICTP-SAIFR SCIENTIFIC COUNCIL
Michael Green (chair) - U. of Cambridge
Rosario Fazio - ICTP representative
Alexandre Reily Rocha - IFT-UNESP director
William Bialek - Princeton U.
Eduardo Fradkin - U. Illinois
Gabriela Gonzalez - LIGO, Louisiana State U.
André de Gouvéa - Northwestern U.
Karen Hallberg - Balseiro Inst., Bariloche
Luis Lehner - Perimeter Inst., Waterloo
Gabriel Mindlin - Univ. de Buenos Aires

ICTP-SAIFR STAFF
Nathan Berkovits - Director
Rogerio Rosenfeld - Vice-Director
Pedro Vieira - Perimeter-SAIFR Coordinator
Jandira Oliveira - Executive Manager
Elisa Pomari - Activities Coordinator
Humberto Neto - Executive Secretary
Luiz Eduardo Moreira - Computer Systems Manager
Maycon Clemente Silva - Adminstrative Secretary
Lilia Faria - Financial Manager
Marrey Peres, Jr. - Operations Manager
Malena Stariolo - Science Journalist
Tiago Codinhoto - Technical Assistant